AHA Board Members

AHA board members have all been involved with EPES at some point over the last several decades and bring a variety of healthcare, non-profit, academic, religious, and other experiences. Members include:

  • President: Christina Mills, MD FRCPC, Past president, Canadian Public Health Association*
  • Vice President: Melanie Nelson, Learning ZoneXpress*
  • Treasurer: Susan Zappen, Prince of Peace Lutheran Church*
  • Secretary: Meghan Ochal, MPH, Public Health Analyst


  • Sonia Covarrubias, EPES Foundation
  • Sheila Dauer, PhD, Women’s Human Rights Advocate
  • Rev. Scott Duffus, Lutheran Pastor, ELCA*
  • Roberta Gianfortoni, Harvard School of Public Health (retired)*
  • Betsy Grob, Early Childhood Consultant and Editor
  • Carol Larkin, Prince of Peace Lutheran Church*
  • Jim Roberts, Prince of Peace Lutheran Church*
  • Marcelo Venegas-Pizarro, MD, CityMD*
  • Rev. Dr. Dale A. Young, Lutheran Pastor, ELCA*

AHA also has an advisory board to provide additional guidance and support to AHA. Members include:

  • Karen Anderson, MEd, MPH, ELCA Global Mission personnel in Chile*
  • Fabiola Letelier, Chilean human rights lawyer
  • Julia Paley, PhD, Author of Marketing Democracy: Power and Social Movements in Post-Dictatorship Chile*
  • Susan Weissert, Board Member, Hesperian Health Guides*
  • David Werner, Author and Educator, Where There is No Doctor
  • Peter Yarrow, of Peter, Paul and Mary*

*Affiliation for identification purposes only.